SFB President Jim Mayo appointed to ABA Community Banker’s Council


Durand, Wisconsin – The American Bankers Association has selected Jim Mayo, President and Chief Executive Officer of Security Financial Bank (FSB) to serve on ABA’s Community Bankers Council.

Mayo, who attended the meeting of the Community Bankers Council Nov. 4-6 in Washington, D.C., said the bankers talked at length about financial regulations and other policy issues pending in Washington that might impact the nation’s 6,000 community banks and their communities.

“This appointment allows me to address national issues affecting community banks and influence policy decisions made in Washington,” Mayo said.  “This is an opportunity that will help us meet the challenges we face locally and guide communities across Wisconsin into a strong economic future.”

While in Washington, Mayo met with Senator Ron Johnson and a staff member from Senator Tammy Baldwin’s office to share the industry’s views on current banking policies.  In addition, council members from across the country discussed mortgage reform, cybersecurity and loan loss accounting.

The ABA Community Bankers Council, which meets twice a year, is made up of approximately 100 bankers from institutions across the United States with generally less than $1 billion in assets.  Members are appointed by the ABA chairman.

Mayo has been employed by SFB since 1999 and has been President and Chief Executive Officer since 2007.  SFB has $300 million in assets and has banking location in Durand, Eau Claire and River Falls and a Wealth Management Division, Security Financial Solutions in Eau Claire.